advice needed

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

advice needed

by rahul1699 » Sat Oct 08, 2011 6:46 pm
hey friends i just completed my engineering and i have no work experience ... so for what i should go for gre or gmat.... pls advice

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members

by akhilsuhag » Sat Oct 08, 2011 7:26 pm
Depends on what you want to do.
GMAT is for management related courses and GRE for everything else. So its your call.
Please press "thanks" if you think my post has helped you.. Cheers!!

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

by rahul1699 » Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:25 am
thanx for answering .sir is the management course good for fresher ?

Followed by:4 members

by akhilsuhag » Sun Oct 09, 2011 12:39 am
Hi,

If you talk about MBA, a GMAT might not mean instant gratification. A GMAT score lasts for 5 years and and most schools need work ex (even ISB in India or any other school that accepts GMAT). So if you want to do an MBA you can give your GMAT now as you are still studying and concepts are fresh in your mind. The other way is to give the CAT and do an MBA. Again it is for you to decide if you want to pursue an MBA in India or abroad.

So I would suggest give the GMAT and get a job and then see where life takes you. You can use the score in the next 5 years so thr is no harm. Anyways GMAT changes next June so it makes complete sense to give it even if you decide not to pursue a course right now.

I hope it helps.
Please press "thanks" if you think my post has helped you.. Cheers!!

Followed by:18 members

by FutureWorks » Tue Oct 11, 2011 5:52 pm
Hi Rahul,

It would depend on the country where you're applying for a management course. In India with the exception of a few schools, an MBA without work experience is the common trend. However, if you want to want to go to U.S. or any other country for higher education then working in the industry is recommended.

Most of the schools abroad consider work-experience.