Plug in number strategy help....

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members

Plug in number strategy help....

by shayam » Sat Oct 08, 2011 2:33 pm
Hey All,

I am just getting started.
Now,I understand that plugging in numbers is a key strategy for many type of problems and this technique comes out from exp or practice, but I am trying to create a flash list of key methods..
Request your help by adding methods not listed here...or correct me if I am wrong..

* Plug in smart numbers
for percents .. plugging in 100
for work problems - plugging in 1
for fractions .. plugging in LCM of all denominators.
for speed problems plugging numbers like 100,1000

* For word problems in general choosing smaller numbers to start offf. say.. 0,1,2,3,4 so that multiplication,exponent/division gets easier.
* Plugging in answer choices(numbers) into the problem.
* Some articles stated that I should not plug in 0,1. in certain problems. Do you guys see any problem in pluggin 0,1
* If multiple numbers are to be plugged in.. choosing prime numbers for each..
* In case of VICS.. if the question stem has defined numbers to variable .. then we should not plug in numbers..

Thanks in advance...

cHEErs

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:85 members
GMAT Score:750

by tpr-becky » Mon Oct 10, 2011 6:24 am
I would actually suggest somewhat different criteria:

For percents use 100

for work problems use a multiple of the common factors (you don't want to deal in fractions if you don't have to)

for fraction problems - use a multiple of the Greatest common factor (again, it is easier to work with whole numbers instead of fractions)

If the word problem is short or has few actions - use small prime numbers - if it is longer choose a number between 10 and 100.

Do not use 0, 1 or numbers from the answer choices - this often creates multiple correct answers and you either get it wrong or you have to re-do the problem.