I beat it! 710 (45Q, 41V)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

I beat it! 710 (45Q, 41V)

by onerunnerdude » Sat Feb 23, 2008 2:52 pm
GMAT Prep:
I started studying in early June for probably about an hour per day / 4 days per week. I took the first gmatprep (the official practice test provided by GMAC) in late June and scored a 680. Unfortunately, I saw several questions that I had previously answered in the OG. This score probably was not representative but I didn't realize it at the time.

I continued to study by answering questions in the OG (both the main one and the separate math and verbal) and was starting to feel good about my abilities. I signed up to take the test in mid-September. About a week before the test I took the second gmatprep and again scored a 680. Again, I saw several repeats. I (incorrectly) convinced myself that this was a representative score. I thought that if I could score a 680 on the gmatprep that I could definitely score a 700 on the real test.