GMAT 620, in doubt of retesting

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

GMAT 620, in doubt of retesting

by idiopat » Tue Aug 30, 2011 5:53 am
Hi,
I gave my GMAT and got a 620. Obviously the top universities are out of scope. So am looking at Tier 2 Universities for an MBA Program, Finance. Got a 111 on the TOEFL. I have 2 years of core retail banking experience with managerial responsibilities. So how are my chances to get an interview from tier 2 MBA programs in the States?

Thanks and Regards,

Varun

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:32 pm
Dear Varun,

It depends on how your entire profile stacks up against a school's profile, as well as how compelling and strong your application is relative to the applicant pool. Decisions are made on a holistic evaluation of your application, so each component is significant and can make a difference. As an international applicant to US schools, your best chance of admission will be targeting programs with GMAT averages at or below a 630 and that are a good match for your career goals.

Good luck,
Lisa
Lisa Anderson
Consultant
Stacy Blackman Consulting

Learn more about me

by idiopat » Wed Aug 31, 2011 5:57 pm
Thanks Stacy,

Yes that is true. I researched and am targeting 3-4 universities which have an average GMAT score of around 640-650. Do you think the attempt in such universities would be fruitful and would not be futile? That is of course with a compelling set of essays. Also I wanted to know the credibility of 2 colleges, Zicklin School of Business(Baruch College, Manhattan) and Northeastern University(Boston), for their MBA program.

Thanks and Regards,

Varun

GMAT/MBA Expert

by Lisa Anderson » Fri Sep 02, 2011 10:02 am