LOST - Don't know where to start - Need Guidance

This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
I am planning on applying to a few schools for their Masters of Accounting programs (I am a Senior in undergrad). I have recently started studying for the GMAT, and I feel very rushed. I realize I should've started studying earlier, but it is what it is at this point. I want to apply ASAP because MAcc programs have rolling admissions, not rounds, so applying early helps.

I took a practice GMATPrep test and scored a 620 (44Q, 31V) after going through "Cracking the GMAT" by Princeton Review - which didn't help much - in a couple of days. I got 16 questions incorrect on the Verbal section, more than half of which were SC questions. I want to start focusing on SC and then branch out into the rest of verbal (even if my Quant score stays the same, but I improve my verbal dramatically, my score will likely approach my target of 680).

However, I don't know where to start or what to use. I have bought the OG books and want to dive in, but I feel like I need a plan. Should I just start doing practice problems? Should I analyze more of the grammatical theories first? Should I just take practice tests and review the questions I get incorrect?

Can someone help please? Thanks!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:4 members

by akhilsuhag » Sat Aug 27, 2011 1:37 pm
Hi,

I would say you start by taking a GMATprep practice test and figure out where you stand, which you have already done.

After this you can figure out what section you need to work on and then take it from their (which you say is SC). You can go the self study way and for that the MGMAT guides are the best starting point for getting your basics clear. You will also need the OG along with the MGMAT guides.
Their are also some very good online courses (knewton, MasterGMAT etc) which you can look at if you don't want to go the self study route. Knewton actually has a 50 point gurantee.