Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Followed by:1 members

Profile Evaluation - Offshore Oil Industry

by bjam2 » Tue Aug 23, 2011 10:54 am
At time of application for 2011:

Undergrad Major: Mechanical Engineering
Undergrad Minor: International Studies
GMAT: 720 (Q47, V42, AWA-6.0)
GPA: 91.7 (3.5 to 3.8 depending on scale)
Full Time Work Experience: 3-3.5 years
Co-op Work Experience: 2 years (my school did 3 months in class, 3 months full time co-op job rotations for the entirety)
Applying to: Harvard, London Business School, Columbia, Stanford

So my co-op experience was mostly in product development and test engineering at automotive related companies. Then I went to work as a field engineer on offshore ultra-deepwater oil rigs for a highly regarded oilfield service company. I have a lot of leadership experience in my current job and in multiple organizations in college. I also have a good amount of international experience having done study abroad in Germany, having spent part of my full time work in France, and loving to travel. I think my biggest weak spot is that I have no real community service to speak of since graduating but thats mainly due to my hectic schedule since I work offshore, but I have mentored 4 engineers that have come into my company since I've worked there. I was the person primarily responsible for their training and I have taught a course to global workers at one of my companies learning/training centers. I am the field champion and helped commercialize the main product my group offers to oil companies.

Comments on how I should plan my application strategy? I've heard that engineers too often get wrapped up in technical aspects of their job, is this something I should look out for?

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:35 members

by MBAPrepAdvantage » Thu Aug 25, 2011 11:08 am