MBA Admissions and Alternative Transcript

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hi Lisa,

I have a question about MBA admissions and an alternative transcript. Right now I'm entering my senior year at a well accredited private university. Unfortunately my GPA is around 2.7. However some of my business classes I have received a C in such as, Accounting, Calculus and Stats I. However in Finance I received an A, Stats II was a B, Intro to Business was a A and Management Principles was a A as well. I still have some business classes to go that I plan on doing well in these next two semesters.

I have a very strong desire to go to Tuck School of Business at Dartmouth College. I will have a private tutor this entire year to get ready to take the GMAT and score well on. I will also be doing some humanitarian work in India next summer. Also, I am currently working on developing a smartphone application that will help with some business experience. I would also like to get a non-profit organization going.

I know that I will need some work experience before I start applying and that's what I'm planning on doing. I'm giving myself about 4 years before I start and within that time I plan on learning Spanish and Chinese (Mandarin).

I feel that all of these will help overlook a lower GPA but with all that, I wonder how I'm looking? That's when I read about alternative transcripts. I know that it won't boost my GPA after graduation, but how much will it help and what should I take. I was talking with my brother, who is a top level executive at Novellus Systems and he informed me to take different classes and not to re-take classes I did poorly in. I was wondering your thought on the matter. Any insight you have give will be greatly appreciated.

Thank you for your time Lisa,

Adam

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Thu Aug 25, 2011 2:04 pm
Dear Adam,