UoP Alum- Please Evaluate My Profile

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

UoP Alum- Please Evaluate My Profile

by kzuloaga4 » Fri Aug 19, 2011 2:07 pm
I am requesting opinions regarding my profile for MBA applications.

First of all, I graduated from the University of Phoenix with a Bachelor's Degree in Business Management. I understand the University of Phoenix does not have the best reputation, however, when I began my studies there in 2006 I was looking to attend college while taking care of my daughter. This seemed like the best solution, however, in retrospect I don't know that it was the best decision.

Beyond that, I graduated with a 3.4 GPA. I took one MBA course at the University of Phoenix but was not pleased with the program. I received an A in that course. I am taking the GMAT in a few weeks and expect to score in the mid-600 range. I have been employed for about 3 years as an Executive Assistant. I currently work for a non-profit as the Executive Assistant to the SVP. Apart from my work responsibilities, I am also in charge of the Special Events Committee at my work. I am 23 years old.

I spend my weekends volunteering at my church teaching Sunday School to 1st and 2nd graders. I also volunteer as a Room Leader for AWANA's.

Question 1: How will admissions boards look at my undergrad degree considering it is from the University of Phoenix?

Question 2: What are my chances of getting into a B-school such as Loyola or Pepperdine? (UCLA?)

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Sat Aug 20, 2011 12:07 pm
Dear kzuloaga4,