Veritas Prep TQ

This topic has expert replies
Legendary Member
Followed by:26 members

Veritas Prep TQ

by mundasingh123 » Wed Jun 15, 2011 12:45 pm
To experts , Are CR question stems on the gmat as convoluted as the one here in this CR . I could nt make out that its a strengthen quest or is it just I who has a problem
Attachments
Capture.GIF
I Seek Explanations Not Answers

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

by cyrwr1 » Wed Jun 15, 2011 1:59 pm
B is my choice and the question is asking which answer choice would support the conclusion.

Legendary Member
Followed by:13 members

by smackmartine » Wed Jun 15, 2011 8:12 pm
IMO B
I am not an expert, but trying to put some of my points.
This is a nice question ,and I guess this is an evaluate type question("best explain how the consumption..." ).Even though in this question, answer is very straight forward, it becomes very difficult at times when options are presented in the form of statements rather than question. I use to face a lot of problem in such question until I got a great tip from some anonymous ANGEL :) . When ever you see statement rather than question, convert the sentence into question. Now according the Powerscore bible you should provide polar answers to the question and see if the answer makes the argument/conclusion weak or strong. If there is no effect ,probably the option is an incorrect choice.You should do this test only on contender options else you may run out of time. For the sake of clarity , let's convert the statement to question,provide polar responses and see its effect on the conclusion / argument.

Conclusion : Organic food were considered good because of absence of pesticides in them.

A) Did organic food marketing group determine that soil in which Organic "fruits and vegetables" are grown was ever treated with pesticides? (Who cares ??? if the group determined or not.)