A point about low GPA

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

A point about low GPA

by scorpion1978 » Mon May 23, 2011 6:19 am
Hello: I have to admit have not done well in my undergraduate Studies. The University I attended was tough and difficult to graduate from.. even some students dropped and went to the US/CA/UK to finish their undergraduate studies. I couldn't, my parents couldn't afford to send me abroad and I have to admit given where I came from I was happy to be enrolled in a university. I studied Banking and Finance with a Major in Finance.. It was rough, a pass was at 70% and most students dropped with W or WF and never came back. It was like a battlefield, you fight to keep you GPA afloat above 2.5 or risk being thrown out and then will subsequently lose your place for EVER. I graduated with a GPA within that borderline, it killed me, but I couldn't do much except re comfort myself by saying that at least I graduated and the next step is to find a good job... A Good Job. I spent months (5 months) networking, writing CV`s, cover letters, attending seminars..., and finally it all paid off. I did land on an interview for a Graduate trainee position in a top Corporate Bank. The selection criteria was cut throat, only 2 out of 20 were chosen, and I was one of them. This was six years ago, today I am Senior Analyst in an investment bank handling various project in the MENA region with an emphasis on the North African market... for that you need to be fluent in three languages... you guessed right: Arabic, French and English.