It's not how we fall...

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts

It's not how we fall...

by Ashim88 » Sat Jun 04, 2011 7:54 pm
I started studying for the GMAT during the last semester of my senior year in college, Fall 2010. I signed up for a course with MGMAT, studied for a month before deciding that I wanted to focus on my classes instead.

I decided to postpone the GMAT till six months after graduation. During those six months, I finished the 9-week MGMAT course, the strategy guides, the three OG books, and Powerscore's CR bible.

MGMAT1-pre-test (with AWA): 460
MGMAT2 (with AWA): 530
MGMAT3 (with AWA): 540
MGMAT4: 490
GMATprep: 420

Real GMAT: 490

After six months, and about $1,500 spend on a 9-week MGMAT course, energy drinks, the GMAT test. Not to mention all the stress and time I put in, I only scored 30 points better than BEFORE even studying. Yeah, it's a bit embarrassing.

This setback / fall will by no means prevent me from reaching my goals. I am planning on hiring a tutor for $50-100 from a third party tutoring site, bc I can't afford the $175 rate with MGMAT (for course students). I'm also considering on getting a few Algebra and Geometry textbooks for extra practice.

I'd like to hit a 600 with 10-20 hours of tutoring, and I'd like to hit a 700+ with 30-40 hours of tutoring. Do these numbers sound reasonable?

I'm a smart guy and a hard worker, and feel that I didn't do enough practice problems/work on my weaknesses.

Legendary Member
Followed by:123 members
GMAT Score:750

by cans » Sat Jun 04, 2011 8:03 pm
Hey, I think its possible to get 600 after 15-20 hours of tutoring and a lot of self practice (keeping in mind that you have gone through MGMAT books before)

Check out where you went wrong in first attempt and work on it.
Good luck :)