Need a Minimum of 450! What can I do?

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Need a Minimum of 450! What can I do?

by almalivia » Tue May 31, 2011 11:41 am
Posted in another thread:

I also need to score a minimum of 450. I've been studying CliffNotes Math Review for Standardized tests. It's helping me relearn the basics. I have the 12th Edition GMAC book which I find a little hard. But I go over it when I have the chance. I am also studying from Princeton Review 2011. I want to take the GMAT sometime in early August. So I want to prepare as much as I can. I study in the morning for 1 hour and then 1 hour at night. Is this engough to meet my minimum? Please suggest any other advice, Thanks!! What else can I do? I don't want to spend alot of money on courses or books.

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:255 members
GMAT Score:750

by Brian@VeritasPrep » Tue May 31, 2011 3:47 pm
Hey almalivia,

It certainly sounds like you're ready and willing to put in the work, so that's a great start!

Rather than try to predict a score based on which books you're using and how long you're studying, I'd recommend just taking one of the official practice tests at www.mba.com and seeing how you do. Then I'd take note of:

-How close are you to your target score?
-Which question types or concept areas troubled you the most?
-Which "silly" mistakes did you catch yourself making that you think you can fix really quickly?
-Which concepts seem like they'll come back to you the easiest, and which seem like they could take months and still never truly click?
-How much was your performance affected by pacing issues?