Gmat beat me... again and harder...

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:2 members
GMAT Score:480

Gmat beat me... again and harder...

by MAAJ » Fri May 06, 2011 12:43 pm
Hi guys...

Some of you know me some of you don't... I didn't want to make this post because I was too ashamed of myself, but today I feel really bad and I need serious advices from you. Memories are coming back and everytime I remember the G-day I just feel like crying again.

After almost 5 months of study I managed to get a score 50 points lower than my previous score. From 480 (Q31 V24) on july 2010 to 430(Q33 V17) on april 2011... I just can't describe the feeling, it's just pure sadness.

My preparation wasn't bad at all. I studied with good sources, made a blog to track what I've learned, kept an error log, took mock test (but unfortunately for me, I didn't time all my excersices), studied 2 hours from monday to thursday and +3 on weekends. The books I've read were incredibly good and gave me a lot of knowledge in basics:

- Official Guide 12th edidion
- Verbal OG 11th edition
- Quantitative OG 11th edition
- MGMAT - Number properties
- MGMAT - Equations, Inequalities & VICS
- MGMAT - Geometry
- MGMAT - Sentence Correction

I know that my problem is verbal section and know that I didn't study CR neither RC much, but that was OK for me because time didn't allow me to study enough to get a score higher than 500~. I was expecting a score on the 500 range because I was scoring in this range in my mock tests:

MGMAT CAT#1: 570 (Q37 V30) didn't do the essays
MGMAT CAT#2: 490 (Q3? V2?)
MGMAT CAT#3: 490 (Q2? V2?)
MGMAT CAT#4: 530 (Q33 V3?)
GMATPREP V2: 560 (Q35 V30) didn't do the essays