concern about GMAT score and work experience

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Followed by:2 members
GMAT Score:710

concern about GMAT score and work experience

by piku9290 » Wed May 04, 2011 10:54 am
Hi! i have been following the answers you give for many MBA aspirant and hope that you ll provide a reliable answer to my problem . I am a chemical engineering student recently graduated from a reputed university in India . My undergraduate performance is just above average (7 out of 10 in Indian scale). i have one month internship at an oil industry and also i ll take another internship of 4 month from May to August in an international project on bamboo plantation . Also , I have been offered a full time job in a very reputed steel industry in India which I am scheduled to join on September. My extra curricular activities are decent which includes lots of awards and certificate in science and social science quiz and exhibition , elocution, extempore etc.
I have interest to pursue MBA but reading many forum i guess that its not worthy to do MBA right after engineering and i should have at least two year of work experience before applying. Still, I decide to take GMAT on June this year and already started the preparation. I am doing self-preparation with Kaplan and Manhattan's books. I got 640 on Kaplan's mock test and 680 on Master GMAt. My question is if I score good (say above 700) and apply after 1 or two year , will the admission committee will question me about this???
Also i would like you to evaluate my brief profile(except the GMAT part) and suggest me some way to prepare for GMAT verbal. I could not score above 35 in GMAT verbal
Thank you

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Fri May 06, 2011 10:14 am
Dear piku9290,