Figure out where you wish to apply
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:1 members
GMAT Score:650

3 Year Undergrad degree

by Iceman1294 » Sun Apr 24, 2011 12:33 pm
Dear BTG posters,

I joined this webiste a few days back, and unsurprisingly found a lot of Indian MBA Aspirants. Now i found a lot of these ppl to be Engineers (Again hardly a surprise), But i am from that less than 10% minority that wants to pursue an MBA from the US (preferably) and is not an Engineer.

Now since I'm not an Engineer, I don't have a 4 year degree, My undergrad degree duration was only 3 years. This is, as you all know, a huge problem with the US Business schools (Honestly dunno Why).

Can you suggest some good b-schools outside the top 25 which accept a 3 year degree (My GMAT score of 650 & 5 years work ex. puts the top 25 slightly out of my reach).

Just to give you some more background majority of the 10% (Non-Engineering background dudes)have a B.Com. or BBA or B.Sc. in something, I am from an even smaller minority, where I have a Degee in Hotel Management (From India's Best college mind you). So this makes me very worried, coz lets face it, Some university might just consider it as a very academically demanding course.

Would really appreciate if someone can suggest some nice colleges for me.

P.S. - I have nothing against Engineers, personally i think you guys rock, but did u really have to make my life complicated by scoring 790 kind of scores Consistently (Kidding)
Cheers!!

by Adams Baker » Mon Apr 25, 2011 12:59 am
This really depends on the university and its admissions policies. Some universities may allow you to apply with a 3-year undergraduate degree; however, most will require the equivalent of a US bachelor's degree which consists of 4 years of education. In most cases, you will be given some options you can explore:
# You could get a master's degree in your country and this will count as the equivalent of a US bachelor's degree.