Working professional - How to squeeze in study time?

This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
I need to get 700 plus to get into the school I dream about, but being a working professional, I am finding it hard to find 3 hrs daily. With a family of a new born and a 6 year old, weekends are not that easy, although I can definitely manage 3 or 4 hours there.

I don't want to sound like someone who is a whiner or with excuses. I am sure hundreds of working people have done this before. So I am looking for some guidance, how you guys managed it, what you guys had to do, etc. I love to work out, but I have given up going to the gym so that I can get that extra time. I intend to take the exam Dec '10 or Jan '11.

Please help!

Thanks,

uhsa

Followed by:1 members

by singalong » Tue Apr 19, 2011 6:20 pm
some tips from people who have successfully juggled work and gmat preparation would have helped here.but no replies.Hope this is not a duplicate thread and hence people decided not to reply.

GMAT/MBA Expert

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:13 members

by Dan@VinciaPrep » Tue Apr 19, 2011 10:36 pm
Hello Usha!

You're right, it's not easy for a lot of people which is why so few people make it to 700. However, the fact that you're starting well in advance gives you a much better shot.

So a couple tips that have worked for some of my students in the past have been

1) to study for the GMAT at work before going home. A lot of times people become instantly tired as soon as they get home so it's better to do your studying before going back.

2) If you're a morning person or think you could become one, try studying early before work. One of the reasons that people have a hard time studying at night is because they're too tired. Try studying in the morning when you're fresh and if you can, save some mindless work from your job for the end of the day when you're tired.