570 is not a hopeless score

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts
Followed by:4 members

570 is not a hopeless score

by asha328 » Thu Mar 24, 2011 8:22 am
If you're one of those who didn't break the 600 barrier on your first try, you're not alone. Read on.

I've waited for this day when I can write this post and share my MBA journey with everyone in this forum. I have drawn inspiration from the BeattheGMAT stories all throughout my MBA preparation. I would like to return the favor and hope someone out there would be inspired by my story.

My GMAT preparations started in September last year, when I had finally convinced myself that MBA was the key to fulfilling my dream of becoming a manager and eventually starting my own company. My first GMAT book was Princeton's Cracking the GMAT, that served as a good resource for someone who had no clue where to begin. Quant was a struggle. I graduated with a degree in Fine Arts and as you can imagine, math was not really the focus of my studies. I had a GPA of 3.7 and graduated with cum laude honors. I'm from a developing, under-represented Asian country.

(In case you're wondering about my alias, an Indian friend told me "asha" means hope. The name stuck because hope is the only thing that keeps me going when things get really tough.)

It took me 4 months to prep for the GMAT. I enrolled at Kaplan, attended their live classes, bought the OG 12, downloaded the GMAT prep and purchased the Manhattan CAT Exams. I went to 2-hour evening classes after work twice a week. I studied until midnight and reviewed for 5-8 hours over the weekends. I turned down so many social invites from friends and became a hermit. For an extroverted, gregarious creature like myself, it was social suicide.