Master's Degree Before MBA asset?

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

Master's Degree Before MBA asset?

by Exxtol » Mon Apr 04, 2011 8:24 pm
Hello,

I have a Master's Degree in International Affairs (Foreign Service Program) from Georgetown University. I graduated in 2009 but I am currently looking into possibly obtaining my MBA in the next year or so. The MBA would be more of a career change as I've discovered that I really enjoy and like Marketing. My question is, does having a master's degree before applying to business school help or hinder one's application? There was no GPA for the program but I did earn A's and B's.

P.S.: My fear is they will look at me having a master's degree and not wanting to use it or changing my focus as bad planning or that I didn't think things through.

Thanks in advance,

John

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Thu Apr 07, 2011 2:13 pm
Dear John,

Many MBA applicants hold other graduate degrees, so it is not uncommon. Having a master's degree is neither an advantage nor a disadvantage in the admissions process; it is simply another piece of your application that will be included in your evaluation. The important thing for you to do is convey your rationale for why you want an MBA and why this is the right time in relation to your past experience and future career goals. You note you want to make a change into marketing--what happened that brought you to this realization? was it something in your professional experience? Even though you might not have formal education in marketing, I would suspect there are aspects to your current (and former) jobs that are marketing oriented. If you can effectively convey how you arrived at your rationale for business school and why you need an MBA to achieve your future goals, then you will not appear to have entered into your previous master's program haphazardly.

Good luck,
Lisa
Lisa Anderson