Back to the Basics......One last time!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:730

Back to the Basics......One last time!

by IamRamki » Thu Mar 31, 2011 10:37 am
730 it is! (Q49, V41). But the real verdict is, if I can do it at 48, 25 years after I graduated, young guys and gals can with no sweat. All you need is an uncompromising determination. So...here goes my story. My dream to return to the academia one day, preferably in India, to teach entrepreneurship and management got revived last November. My classmates who are professors at CMU and other top institutions advised me to start working on my PhD (I have been planning for years now!) ASAP if I'm serious about my objective. My experience as the founder and CEO of a boutique management consulting firm for 15 years, they said, combined with a good GMAT score, will make me an attractive (of course with a few caveats) candidate for top ranking schools (SC buffs can check this sentence for errors!). However they cautioned me to take this effort seriously because they know I have never been serious about my education even though I graduated from reputed institutions in India. I told myself, 'The best time to take GMAT was 25 years back......but the second best time is NOW!'. This is a borrowed quote....not mine. FYI, I have a Master's in Industrial Eng and a Bachelor's in Mechanical dept.

My approach: