Report my second score? Retake the test?

This topic has expert replies

Should I retake the GMAT?

Yes
100%
No
No votes

Total votes: 5

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Report my second score? Retake the test?

by Calif12 » Sat Dec 09, 2006 5:20 pm
Hi Stacey,

Background: I just took the GMAT today for the second time with the hope that I would raise my quantitative score and maintain or raise my verbal score. I also wanted to raise my total score since it isn't great.

Stats on the two tests:
First: Q:39 (58th percentile), V:35 (76th percentile), 620 overall, 6 AWA
Second: Q:41 (64th percentile), V:34 (71th percentile), 620 overall

I did manage to raise my quantitative score, but my verbal score slightly lowered and my overall score stayed the exact same (620).

The reason I wanted to raise my quantitative score is because I graduated in chemical engineering and thought it looked really bad to have such a large gap between my math and verbal performance. I thought I would be able to receive a much higher score overall because on the first test I took, I guessed on quite a few quantitative questions at the end when I ran out of time.

I have two questions:
1.) Should I report the second score because the gap between my math and verbal scores decreased even though the overall score is the same?

2.) Should I retake the test a third time to try to get a higher overall score? I don't know if I have a good enough profile to get into the schools I want to and I also don't know if I can score higher.

I am applying to 6 schools and want to get into at least one. I am applying to the UCLA part time, USC part time, UCSD part time, Berkeley part time, Harvard, and Stanford. I graduated (engineering) from UC San Diego.

I am not sure if I have a good enough profile to get into any of them (I am at the bottom of the mid 80% range for all schools).