What are my chances?????

Share tips as you apply, write essays, interview...
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

What are my chances?????

by beyondenim1 » Sun Feb 06, 2011 7:47 am
Here is my profile:

About Me: Asian (Indian), 20 years old.

Undergraduate Program: I graduated from a college in Asia, Majored in Commerce: Management Accounting (4 years)

GPA: 3.70

Work Experience: Self Employed as my dad owns a merchandising type of business. Currently working for 1.5 years, I will be taking my MBA after 1.5 years, overall 3 years of work experience.

Specific Task/s: Salesman, I trade several foreign currencies at a current market rate, I handle all the inventories of goods and the necessary accounting of sales.

Recommendations: Two Accounting Professors (CPA's) and I am sure to get a very good recommendation from them as I performed very well in Accounting subjects during my undergraduate studies.

GMAT: N/A but I am planning to take it this October. Studying as of the moment and am targeting a score of at least 700.

Target Colleges:

ESSEC, Singapore
INSEAD, Singapore

I can pay the necessary tuition fees and living costs in full.

I have two questions:

1. Regarding my work experience, I don't have anybody from the outside to evaluate me because my dad owns everything. Does that mean that my dad needs to evaluate my performance? And is that acceptable?

2. I came from a good college (not great and not that well known), does that hamper my chances in getting into the above mentioned colleges?

Thanks in Advance.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:42 members
GMAT Score:740

by Jessica@VeritasPrep » Wed Feb 09, 2011 7:12 am