NEED 570!!! PLEASE HELP!!!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

NEED 570!!! PLEASE HELP!!!

by japon » Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:57 pm
Dear All,

I just took my 1st GMAT exam 2 weeks ago and scored only 440, I need to obtain 570 by April 5th.
I have 2 more chances to take the GMAT(my next gmat is scheuled on Feb 16th(2 weeks from now))

I have been preparing for GMAT since Oct 1st 2010, basicaly going through OG 12, GMAT Quantitative Review 2nd Edition, GMAT Verbal Review 2nd Edition. I spend an average of 4~5 hours a day studying.

I can answer all of the Quantitative questions from OG 12 and Quantitative Review 2nd Edition, however since english is my second language, I am having a difficulty with the verbal section, especially the time management part. (I took 30 mins to answer my first 10 questions on the GMAT last time and I ran out of the time)

I bought a GMAT VERBAL BIBLE a week ago and going throgh 1 chapter a day from each section and my strategy for the next 2 months are [1] be able to answer all the Quantitative Questions from "OG 12" and "Q Review 2nd Edition" [2] Finish "GMAT VERBAL BIBLE" and redo Verbal Questions from "OG12" and "Verbal Review 2nd Edition" [3] take GMAT PREP at least 4 times, because I only took once before the last exam.

What do you think of my strategy? do you think it is enough to score 570? if you have any additional advice or studying tips, please tell me!

THANK YOU!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:52 members
GMAT Score:760

by rishi raj » Wed Feb 02, 2011 2:24 am
There are two good things about your situation
1) You have a reasonable target score. It's unlike one of the target scores you see where where people aim for 700 on the second attempt after having scored a 450 on the first attempt
2) You have a good amount of time in hand.