Didn't beat the gmat: (490, 16 Q, 40 V)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Didn't beat the gmat: (490, 16 Q, 40 V)

by sthomaspan » Mon Sep 14, 2009 1:14 pm
Hi all:

I took the GMAT this morning, and unfortunately did not beat it. I'm not sure what went wrong. I studied for about 2 months prior to enrolling in the PRE-MBA program at Fordham University and then studied for about 3 weeks intensively after completing the summer trimester. At Fordham, I did well in Calculus and Statistics, earning a B+ and A.

My practice scores are as follows:

APR 5th, 2009: 550, 33 Quant, 32 Verbal
JUN 7th, 2009: 530, 29 Quant, 34 Verbal
AUG 9th, 2009: 500, 29 Quant, 31 Verbal
AUG 30th, 2009: 470, 29 Quant, 29 Verbal

ACTUAL GMAT:
SEPT 14TH, 2009: 490 16 Quant, 40 Verbal

I used the following materials:

Princeton Review Cracking the GMAT
OG 11
Manhattan SC
Beat the Gmat Flashcards

I focused hard on math and was able to do the first 150 questions of the OG 11, but my comprehension of the various number properties really beat me. That combined with a lack of proper timing, I lost focus and became flustered. At the end of the Quant section I knew it was going to be bad, but I didn't realize how bad.

Any idea on what I can do to improve? I'm looking into the Vertias Quant Focus weekend seminar. With application deadlines looming, I have about a month to study before I'm scheduled to take it again on Oct, 17th.

Any help is greatly appreciated!

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts
Followed by:1 members

by ogbeni » Mon Sep 14, 2009 3:55 pm
Go with Manhattan GMAT. You already noted that number properties killed you - why not purchase Manhattan GMAT's number properties book?

There's hope, you just need to make sure you travel the proper road before your retake.

Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts