Got an exact 700 Q48 V37

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Got an exact 700 Q48 V37

by rahulku » Fri Dec 24, 2010 5:03 am
Hi Guys,

I thought I would also give my debrief on the GMAT.

I took my GMAT on the 23rd of December 2010.

My Study Pattern:
Before I start, A little bit of background about me. I am a working professional with about 11 years of experience. Picked up books after 11 years of my graduation. Booked the test 1 month in advance and took 2 weeks leave from office. For the first 2 weeks, just got my hands dirty understanding how the GMAT works, the question types etc.
The next 2 weeks, I studied religiously. Studied almost 8-9 hours a day including weekends.

Study Books:
MGMAT all verbal books. But later realised that RC and CR is not particulary great. CR Powerscore Bible is far better.
OG 12th Edition and Verbal 2nd edition..One has to finish the CR's and SC's & RC's of these books.
Quant. MGMAT Word Translations (excellent book. A must buy). 300+ GMAT Questions with Best Solutions. I found it on the internet. Really tough questions, but i guess if you study these questions, you will be allright.
Copy Pasted the difficult questions in order to read it just before the DDAY.
AWA -- needless to say, Chinese Burned found on the BeattheGMAT site. Just learnt by heart those 2-3 introduction & conclusions lines and in my exam just wrote those lines even without reading what the argument or the issue was. Will update the AWA score later when i get it. Gave only 2 proper exams GMAT prep 1 and MGMAT CAT 6 with essays. Other exams just gave the quant and verbal. I know this is not recommended, but i did not have the luxury of time.
I gave GMAT prep 2 2 days before the exam and scored a lowly 640. This did not do wonders for my confidence.

The day before the exam: