680 on round I, reaching for for a 720+ on round II

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I graduated with a BBA from the Ross School of Business in April and was determined to conquer the GMAT before starting my career in management consulting. I am planning on applying for sponsorship through my firm in 2 years to attend a top 10 MBA program. I was convinced that I was equipped with the skillset and motivation to join the 700+ club with 2 months of study time. Little did I know that my GMAT journey was just beginning...now I need help refocusing my strategy to reach my target score!

I started my preparation with a MGMAT course and diligently kept up with the syllabus and practice exams. My first practice exam was a 640 (Q42, V35), but in subsequent exams I had trouble raising my score more than 10-20 points. While I found I could raise my Verbal score just through practice and focus, my Quant score was ALL over the place. I was a hot mess when it came to timing. I bought the GMAT Quant Focus exams to get additional timing practice and completed all of the problems in OG12. After FINALLY figuring out how to *gasp* make educated guesses and move on - my overall score jumped to the 690-700 range. I decided to stick with my 7/17 exam date and hope (read: pray for a miracle) that I would get my highest Q and V scores and walk away with a 700+.

Definitely a mistake - I went into the Quant portion of the exam with a lack of confidence and ended up tripping up on easy questions. I ended up with an abysmal 39 on Quant (my lowest score EVER). Thankfully, I was able to re-focus and get a 44 on Verbal to bring my final score to a 680. I knew immediately I had to re-take the exam with a Quant score in the 50th percentile...