Importance Of Work Experience

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:710

Importance Of Work Experience

by kidchaos » Thu Sep 23, 2010 3:36 am
I graduated with a first class agg of 64.7% in Elex & Telecom Engg in June 2010

In College I was the Chief editor for the Magazine in my final year and the Financial manager the year before. I was also the Creative head of the college IEEE branch and have designed all the publicity material for the Intercollege festival and all events held year round. I have very good extracurriculars throughout school and College.

I am currently working as a Resource Mobilization Co-ordinator for an NGO called Operation Smile India.

My Job entails Marketing & Donor Relations for the org and I basically handle it alone with help from a consultant who comes in a couple of times a week. I am in the process of designing the PR material for the organisation and working on a couple of new Fundraising ideas with the consultant.

I get to go on all their Medical Missions (almost 1 every alternate mth) conducted all over India in Rural areas where they perform free Cleft Lip and Cleft Palate or Burns surgeries for young children. On these missions my role is different as per the requirement for eg. when we have donors coming to volunteer or observe the mission then it is Donor relations but otherwise it varies from Medical Records to Translation (since the doctors and nurses come from Abroad).

I plan to pursue an MBA in Marketing and specialize in PR & Brand management. I will have 1 yr work ex at matriculation.

I plan to give my GMAT end of nxt mth & apply in R2. I am looking for advice on which schools are the best for Marketing, Brand Management & PR. I have Identified UCLA, Chicago GSB & NYU Stern and would like to know of some other schools.