Is Business school right for me???

Launched June 18, 2009
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Is Business school right for me???

by lsommer28 » Mon Sep 06, 2010 7:36 pm
For the past couple years I have been thinking about getting an MBA (I am now 28). I graduated with a BS in Biology and Minors in Chemistry and Physics. My overall GPA was a 3.0; however I achieved a 3.98 during my last 4 semesters. Following college I attended a USNEWS top 15 school and earned my MS in Biomedical Engineering, in which my curriculum followed the MD/PhD track (GPA 3.4). Following my completion of graduate school I took a job with Merrill lynch. I worked for Merrill up until they were purchased by BofA. I left Merrill after 9 months because I did not enjoy what I was doing. Subsequent to ML I knew I wanted to go back to science. I was recruited by two renowned Neurobiologists and offered a faculty position at a state university at which I am currently presiding. I recently took the GMAT and received a 700 (V37, Q48).
I am very interested in scientific venture capital and I have also been contemplating setting up my own biotech firm. I am interested in applying to a top business school that has a program that suits the goals I have. Do I have any chance of gaining admission to a top 10 school?
The professor I currently work for is an alumnus of Stanford and UPenn and the MD/PhD student I recently mentored is an alumnus of Stanford. Any advice would be helpful. Thank you and I appreciate your time.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:2 members

by jkhousto » Fri Sep 10, 2010 7:27 pm
Dear lsommer28 -

First of all - apologies for my slow reply - I drafted a response and thought I sent it, but I guess I did not!