760 (49Q / 45V) - Detailed Debrief

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

760 (49Q / 45V) - Detailed Debrief

by byau » Mon Aug 30, 2010 11:43 pm
Hi all, I just took my GMAT in NYC and finished with a 760-99% (49Q-86% / 45V-98%). I am very pleased with my score and just wanted to share my experience.

General Strategy:
I set aside three months for my GMAT studying. In the first two months I probably studied for two hours every other day, while in the last month I studied at least one hour every weekday and at least four hours every weekend.

I kind of approached the GMAT in a different way each month. I spent the first month feeling out what the test was all about and trying to identify what I was good at (critical reasoning) and what I was not good at (sentence correction, specific math topics). At this point, I would consider myself a low 600s scorer. The second month was devoted to diving as deep as I could into my weaknesses and turning them into strengths. I made flash cards of things I didn't know (idioms, geometric rules) and of problems I couldn't solve. At this point I was probably a high 600s scorer. The final month was trying to cement my all around game while continuing to brush up on my weaknesses. In the last week, I began to take as many exams as I could to increase my endurance and to improve my time management. I kind of wish I did even more of this because I feel like endurance is such an important factor.

Books and Materials Used (rated by usefulness):
GMATClub / Beat The GMAT - 11/10
GMATClub App - 11/10
Official Guide 11 - 10/10
Official Quantitative Guide - 9/10
Official Verbal Guide - 9/10
Kaplan Premier 2010 - 8/10
MGMAT Math Guides - 8/10
Powerscore Sentence Correction - 7/10
4GMAT Combinations / Permutations Guide - 5/10
Ace the GMAT - 5/10