Profile for Part Time MBA from HAAS (UC Berkley)

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Hello Tracy,
I went through your posts and was quite encouraged. I gave my GMAT last week and was dejected to see 560 (Q42, V25). I was getting on an avg 620-650 in practice tests. I'll brief my profile below and will appreciate if you can share some insight and suggest if I must give GMAT again.

I have 10+ years of experience (Both in Large companies such as Alcatel, Lucent and very small silicon valley startups). I always wanted to be an entrepreneur and thus geared my career accordingly. I started with software development in a couple of large companies to gain experience of a big corporation and then joined a mid size company to do Marketing/Product Management. Finally I joined a real small startup (Founder of the company called me to join as member of the core engineering team, so I moved back to software development). Then as the startup grew, I moved to different organizations such as Customer Support (Helped develop the support processes, issued RFP for CRM and project managed the CRM implementation etc) and finally I am currently into Sales as Sales Engineer for last two years. My short term goal is to get part time MBA from HAAS and then eventually start my own venture.

I have B.S in Compture Science from India (GPA 3.3 ) and Part Time/Distant Learning MS in Computer Science from USA (GPA 3.4). I had joined Toastmasters Club when I was in Dallas working for Alcatel (I gave 7 speeches and am 3 short of getting my Distinguished Toast Master). I have taken Steven Covey's work shops and courses in Marketing & Entrepreneurship from Stanford School of Continuing studies. I am a member of TIE (The Indus Entrepreneur) organization, SIPA (Silicon Valley Professional Association) and PMI (Project Management Institute). I had started a Cricket Club with my friends last year and was on the organization comittee.