760 (49Q, 44V) w/5.5 AWA

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

760 (49Q, 44V) w/5.5 AWA

by Lamdun » Mon May 10, 2010 6:45 pm
Hey guys,

Just got my official score report. I've learned a ton of GMAT strat from this board so I thought that I should say a few things about my preparation.

Resources used:

Princeton's Cracking the GMAT
Kaplan's GMAT premier
OG11
Manhattan Gmat (arithmetic, SC, and CR)
GMATPrep

I am not taking classes this last quarter of senior year so I thought that I would prepare for my GMAT during the downtime. I studied an average of 20-30 hours a week I gave myself the full 10 weeks (which SHOULD be around June) to prepare. However, my practice tests scores were:

1. GMAT Prep CAT 1 - 760 (This was taken AFTER I completely read through both Princetons and Kaplan
2. Princeton Review CAT I - 690 (took this one hungover and unfocused, lol)
3. Princeton Review CAT II - 730
4. GMAT Prep CAT II - 760

I took a practice test every week so by the 4th week, I told myself to screw it and just take it that Friday (May 5th or something). Was pretty happy that I scored the 760 but my only regret was not studying harder and getting a 800 ;)

Unfortunately, I don't really have anything new to say about preparation that might help you guys achieve this score in such a short amount of time. However, I think that I might add some value to this forum by talking about what I believe is the attitude you should have in order to score in the high 700s.

I am short on time so I will have to be brief. But heres a few points I hope will help you guys out: