University of Houston

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

University of Houston

by therealphil77 » Thu Oct 25, 2007 5:58 pm
I studied for the GMAT for approximately 3 months, which I believe is too long and extended. I am not like many of the posters on this website b/c I was not targeting a Top 10. I simply wanted to score above average for the only school that I wanted to go to (UH CT Bauer School of Business). I believe this school is perfect for my intentions. If you are like me and don't plan to apply to Harvard or Dartmouth or the like, you can still benefit from the vast amount of information on this website. I am a working 30 year old and going to school full time was definitely out of the question. UH has industry specific classes and certificates that will be beneficial for my career. I didn't apply to any other school. I was accepted to the MBA program for Spring 2008.

I started studying the Princeton Review 2004 Edition in 6/07. Read the entire book and worked out every question. The questions didn't seem too difficult and provided an understanding of the content. I took a few of the practice CAT's on the CD and scored between 550 and 660.

After completing the Princeton Review book, which I knew was a little outdated, I stumbled upon this website. I found that the Official Guide 11th edition was highly touted as the book to purchase. I purchased the Official Guide 11th Edition, plus the VR and QR. These books are a must.

I worked out every problem in all the books. If I was targeting a higher score, I would have definitely followed the advice of the rest on this mb: document your weaknesses and become proficient in all aspects of both the Quantitative and Verbal section. What I failed to do was develop a structured study strategy. I just worked out all the problems in the books and went over the problems I missed.