Thank you Beat The GMAT - 710

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Thank you Beat The GMAT - 710

by KielJ » Tue Apr 13, 2010 9:53 am
Hello, although this is my first post here, I have been a heavy lurker for the past 10 days or so while I got my study on for the GMAT, and I would like to just give a big thank you to Eric and the team who maintain this site - it truly was an invaluable resource for me in preparing for the test, and I think the community and GMAT takers everywhere (including myself) owe it to you all - big time.

As I said, I studied for about 10 days, a good amount of that on this past weekend before the test. I ended with a 710 (Q48 V39), which I was quite happy about as I was gunning for a 700. I even earned the honorable distinction of getting shushed by the test administrator lady when my score popped up as I was celebrating.

Anyways, here's how I prepared (I used mostly the OG, but did use Manhattan and Kaplan early on for math and sentence correction):

Day 1 - Spent this day (when I say day I usually mean 2-3 hours, if I took a test that day up the number to 4-5 hours) on just remembering old math formulas and basics and then running through problems on these. I have always been pretty decent at math, so I did not spent too much time on learning anything, rather practicing what I knew. I will concede I had read enough about the GMAT to understand the structure and question types, so that didn't factor into my 10 days.

Day 2-3 - somewhere around here I rediscovered the gem that is www.beatthegmat.com and printed off a lot of the materials under the resource sections. Studied very in-depth on sentence correction learning as many rules and memorizing as many idioms and things of that nature that I could.