Planning a retake!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Planning a retake!

by steve999 » Tue Apr 13, 2010 8:17 pm
Hi everyone,

I completed my GMAT last week and it did not go as expected. I got 620 (Q- 48 (83%) & V-28 (47%)), AWA -6 (90%).

Regarding my preparation, I studied for just 2 weeks and worked on all MGMAT guides and completed last 50% of OG12 (Quant, SC & CR). Most of my preparation was during weekends and weekdays (about 2hrs/day). As I am an engineer, I found quants to be easier than verbals! My test scores are shown below:

Before OG
GMATPrep1: 710
GMATPrep2: 640
PPrep1: 590
PPrep2: 700
MGMAT exams: Ranged from 620 to 660 in all 6 exams!

Verbals: As usual, it started off with some SC and then CR. Most of questions were ok. I didn't see any SC or CR that looked very difficult. RC was a horror story though! I got really difficult science passages which were so dense! During my prep, RC was my strength and I got most of questions right. Anywas, the RC passages ate up so much of my time that by the time I reached 26 question, I just had about 5 mins left! The last 14-15 questions, I guessed blindly since my mind blanked out. Infact, I didn't even read the question or last RC passage. I just saw the choices and guessed based on what looked right. Thus, score of 28 didn't surprise me at all!

Two questions:
1. If you are stuck in a RC passage you can't comprehend (long passage), Do you move on at the risk of getting 5-6 wrong answers at a stretch?
2. I feel that by not even reading last 15 questions, and receiving a score of 28 could either mean I got terribly lucky or must've done the first half pretty well.