740!! Here's how I did it!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:740

740!! Here's how I did it!

by pallavmishra » Sat Mar 27, 2010 5:19 am
Just returned from the exam center and I still find it difficult to believe I got 740 (97% percentile). I got 87% percentile in Math and 92% percentile in Verbal, so it was a fairly balanced score, though I wish now I'd got more. But no complaints - I started preparing exactly 2 months and 12 days back (15th Jan it was). No preparation prior to that.
Here's what my strategy was:

1. Practice. I am a working professional and cannot afford a lot of leaves. Still, I took a week off early this month to improve my level of preparation. 2 hours in the morning (6 to 8 AM) and 2-3 hours in the evening. Take your full tests preferably in the mornings and get a good night's rest before you take your full practice test.
2. Good course material: Official Guides 10, 11 and 12 (got from some friends): Tons of material for practice, Full practice tests of Kaplan, Princeton Review, GMAT prep.
3. Periodic visits to forums such as Beat the GMAT. This is a good forum because it connects you to the GMAT world, esp. serious takers.
4. Do NOT neglect your AWA. AWA essays may be the most neglected aspects of your preparation, but remember - they are the first thing you face in GMAT. And if you are not satisfied with them, it does psychologically impact you for the rest of the exam. Therefore, whenever you do your full test, do write your essays and not skip them.