McCombs / Olin / Mays / Cox / Price

Congrats! Tell us how you did it
This topic has expert replies
2007 Beat The GMAT Scholarship Winner!

McCombs / Olin / Mays / Cox / Price

by SigGolfer » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:26 am
Hello! I think this topic is worth supporting, so I thought that I would add a little bit about my ongoing admissions struggles. Here's a run-down of my stats:

27-year old male, US citizen
BS in non-technical field
3.3 GPA, but it started REALLY low and got progressively higher
Served 7 years in US military
740 GMAT

I am applying for Fall 08 admission to:

McCombs @ UT-Austin
Olin @ Washington University in St. Louis
Mays @ Texas A&M
Cox @ Southern Methodist University
Price @ University of Oklahoma (safety school)

Since my GPA isn't that impressive, I really focused on my essays and my GMAT. Thankfully, the GMAT worked out and I am currently working on the essays. So far I have three main "types" of essays. I have a "Why an MBA/this school" essay, a "Diversity" essay, and a "leadership example" essay. I've adjusted these essays to each school and I've come up with several additional essays because some questions are significantly different from the norm. I wrote two drafts for each essay with minor editing in-between and then I had two relatives QC the final product for me.

I'm trying to apply for R1 because I need scholarship money. I believe that applying in R1 will really give me an advantage. Other than that, I'm not sure what else to add. I'll try to keep everyone posted. If anyone is applying to the above schools (eh, you all are probably applying to HBS and Wharton), please drop me a line! Also, I encourage others to post their own admissions stories. Good luck!

GMAT/MBA Expert

Site Admin
Followed by:994 members

by beatthegmat » Tue Oct 02, 2007 10:32 am
Thanks for sharing your story, SigGolfer. Good luck with your apps!
Beat The GMAT | The MBA Social Network
Community Management Team

Research Top GMAT Prep Courses: