Took GMAT, Disappointed 560(42Q, 26V)

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Took GMAT, Disappointed 560(42Q, 26V)

by savagec318 » Sat Dec 12, 2009 10:46 pm
I just came back from taking the GMAT and I am quite disappointed with my verbal score. I've taken both GMAT prep tests, and all 6 MGMAT tests, and never scored below a 33 on Verbal, but during this test, I got a measly 26. My Quant usually was in the 42-44 range, so I wasn't disappointed about that. I actually thought that I did very bad on Quant, and good on Verbal. I'm trying to figure out what messed me up so badly. Usually during the practice tests, I skip the AWA section, and go straight to the Quant and Verbal sections. Maybe I burnt out when I arrived at the Verbal section. Also, I've never drank coffee when I studied, but I had some before the GMAT today. It's been killing me to why I did so poorly on verbal in the actual gmat. Anyone have ideas?

Site Admin
Followed by:550 members
GMAT Score:770

by DanaJ » Sat Dec 19, 2009 10:13 am
Most test prep experts argue that when you practice, you really need to do your best to mimic test day conditions. This is probably why your scores were slightly inflated, while stress probably helps explain the rest of the difference. My advice is to try and take tests in simulated conditions - AWA is not important, but it takes a toll on your system, so to speak.

Another thing to remember is that you should not change your habits for the big day. Some people go so far as to suggest that you should take practice tests at the very same hour of the day that you'd be taking the real thing. Drinking coffee might also explain why you underperformed.

by kiddles » Tue Dec 22, 2009 9:00 pm
Wow. Seems like we're in almost the same boat. Check out my post here: https://www.beatthegmat.com/700s-in-prac ... 49775.html