When D-day was one of my lucky days... (750, Q49, V42)

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
Although this is my first post in this forum, I have been browsing this forum for quite a while, ranging from doing practice problems to reading other posters' inspiring stories. I think anyone who's planning to take GMAT should use this website.

Anyway, I just took GMAT today. The score is better than I could ever imagine (750, Q49, V42). I can't think of any reason why I got this score other than luck was on my side. Well, I still hope my experience will help anyone who's going to take the exam soon.

The preparation

Study Materials: MGMAT verbal and math sets, OG verbal and math guides, OG12

I started studying GMAT about 3 months ago. Even without doing diagnostics test in OG12 I knew sentence correction would be my biggest weakness. I am an immigrant to the US, and back then I never had the chance to fully understand the grammatical rules. Well, I still took the diagnostic test anyway, and realized that I needed improvement in all areas.

I decided to start with SC first - went over the MGMAT SC book. Anyone who wants to improve their SC skills must read this book.

For CR and RC I also referred to the MGMAT guides, but I don't think they are as helpful. I believe MGMAT's CR strategy is good for fast readers only. I read really slow, and to be honest I don't have time to write down notes as the guide has instructed. The guide's strengthen/weaken questions strategy was still very helpful to me however.

While working on MGMAT and OG's practice problems, I have done several practice exams (less essays) once a week to track my progress. Here are the scores of my first 3 practices:

GPREP1 710 Q50 V37
MGMAT1 660 Q46 V34
MGMAT2 660 Q46 V34