Advices please - Vietnamese profile

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:670

Advices please - Vietnamese profile

by vnbean » Sun Aug 23, 2009 11:53 am
Hi,
Thank you for your great evaluations, it's really helpful to me.
This is my first time applying for b-schools.
My profile:
Vietnamese, Male, 29 years old
GMAT: 1st 540(M50, V14, AWA 3.5), 2nd 670(M51, V28, AWA 4.5)
Toefl: 71, i'm gona retake it sooner (I guess it might be around 90)
GPA: 3.3 - Engineer

Work Experience: 6 years in IT
5 years ago, I started a business in IT industry with other people and it's going well.
I have spent 2 years in teaching programming and software development subjects and 4 years as Project Manager in Software development at my company.

Extracurricular Activities:
Member of Boards of Director my company, won some prizes with my team at nation-wide IT contests.

Target:
I would like to study entrepreneurship and product management.
Please advise me some schools that fit my profile.
I'm considering to apply for: Maryland Smith, Babson, USC Marshall, Boston U, Boston C.
What do you think about my chances at these schools.

Thank you very much again.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:81 members

by Stacey Oyler » Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:04 pm
Hi vnbean and thanks for your post. Please see my comments below:

My profile:
Vietnamese, Male, 29 years old
GMAT: 1st 540(M50, V14, AWA 3.5), 2nd 670(M51, V28, AWA 4.5)
Toefl: 71, i'm gona retake it sooner (I guess it might be around 90)
GPA: 3.3 - Engineer

While you don't mention your univeristy by name or the year you graduated, I can tell you that your GPA is on target for the programs you are considering. I am glad to see you retook the GMAT, congratulations on increasing your score! Hopefully you are able to increase your TOEFL score when you sit for the exam again, this will certainly help to strengthen your academic profile and competitiveness at your selected programs.