Non-traditional profile, evaluate please?

Launched April 26, 2006
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Non-traditional profile, evaluate please?

by cks3 » Mon Aug 17, 2009 3:02 pm
I was hoping for feedback on my upcoming business school application since I don't fit the typical candidate profile. I graduated in the Spring of 2009 from a top 50 university with a 3.7 GPA and degrees in Marketing and Communications. I have two internships on my resume, each pertaining to one of my majors. I got a 710(Q:48-84th percentile, V:40-89th percentile) on the GMATs, though I'm retaking again in two weeks since I underachieved relative to my practice tests.

The challenge I have is that I have not worked since graduation, but I have earned a living making 50k+ a year as a professional poker player. I'm now looking to step away and move towards consulting and my own business in the future, but I don't know whether this can be spun as a positive or whether I won't be taken seriously.

The schools I'm considering are as follows:
Stanford
Michigan
Virginia
Dartmouth
UCLA
MIT
CMU
UNC
Penn State (safety)
Pitt (safety)

What do you think my chance are for acceptance and do you have any suggestions as I begin my applications? Thanks.

-C

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:148 members

by Lisa Anderson » Tue Aug 18, 2009 8:22 am
Dear C,