Just tell me whether I am too stupid for B school.

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I just came back from taking the GMAT. I am 37 and I work full-time. I am a journalist (i.e., left-brained) and consider myself EXTREMELY BAD at math. Even so, I want to get an MBA; it's always been a dream to work in business. So I have been tackling the brutal and humiliating task of studying for the GMAT (humiliating because almost every quant. problem to me looks like this: *%$#$$##@@@@ (gibberish).

I have been studying with Kaplan since November; I took the GMAT course twice. I don't really know how many hours I have studied since November; I did not keep track. But I probably did hundreds of problems in the Kaplan and Official Guide books (although I did not do many of the Kaplan problems online). I made flash cards. I have notebooks full of notes. I hired a tutor for about 6 hours to go over math (admittedly, even with the tutor I still did not understand some of the concepts, but I am starting to think that I never will). I spent hours memorizing formulas and learning math that, frankly, I never even learned when I was in high school. I remember being in algebra and flunking every single test.

I spent very little time on verbal (total of 6-10 hours max). And the verbal questions I tend to get wrong are the critical reasoning ones.

I took 2 weeks off work and the last 2 weeks I have been studying FULL-TIME. I did both the GMATprep tests on mba.com, as well as 3-4 Kaplan practice tests and the UPT. The last practice test score I got (last Saturday) was a 500. I was thrilled. YES, THRILLED.