Profile evaluation

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile evaluation

by Onkey » Mon Jun 15, 2009 5:54 pm
Hi,

Thank you very much in advance for evaluating my profile. I am a undergrad student at Johns Hopkins University majoring in Business Management. I have currently a 3.95 overall GPA and expect to graduate in Jan 2010. I should graduate with honors and received several scholarships. I am originally from Germany and came to the US 3 years ago. I completed a year of full time Voluntary service in a homeless shelter in Baltimore. Besides my studies I also have worked for a year as a Office Manager for a non-profit that empowers students to address global issues. I am 24 years old and haven't taken the GMAT yet. Once graduated I am planning on working for two years in consulting or at a large cooperation. I would like to earn my right after my BS but I heard the chances for admission are lower. My goal is to earn a MBA from worldwide Top 10 business school. Especially I like Wharton, HBS, LBS, Stanford.

What are my chances ?
Should I apply now or wait and work two years ?
What else could I do to make my to make my application more competitive ?
The undergrad business program at Johns Hopkins is not ranked and relatively unknown. Does that hurts me ?

GMAT/MBA Expert

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:2 members

by Eliot » Tue Jun 23, 2009 6:34 am
Onkey,

Thanks for your note. I am impressed with your 3.95 gpa at Johns Hopkins. Your gpa is well above the 3.5 gpa average for competitive applicants at top business schools. In addition, Johns Hopkins is a well known school. If you can get a solid GMAT score, you will be very competitive academically at top MBA programs.