The job hopper

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

The job hopper

by HealthcareMBA » Thu Apr 30, 2009 6:59 pm
I am interested in applying to MBA school spring 2010 for fall 2010 admissions. Would like to go to NYU or Columbia since I live and work in New York. Trying to assess if I have a shot.

My Background:
I graduated from a top undergraduate school with a BS in nursing, GPA 3.4. Worked as a Neuro ICU nurse in a top Boston hospital for 2 years, and then as a CTICU nurse in a top NYC hospital for 10 months. After that, I decided to pursue other interests, and worked at an investment bank for about 10 months in an entry level job. Recieved outstanding performance reviews, but found the work unfulfilling. Decided to return to nursing and went to an SICU in a top NYC hospital for 10 months.
After the SICU, I entered graduate school and received a MSN with a concentration in Nurse Anesthesia. It's the most difficult and competative nursing subspecialty. My program is 27 months and admitts only 15% of applicants. Classes are held one day a week (all day long). The other four days are spent in the hospital doing my residency. I have really excelled in the program, GPA 3.9, and received excellent performance reviews. I recently graduated and will be working in NYC.

I'm planning on going for an MBA. When I decided to get an MSN, I knew that I would likely go back again afterwards (at somepoint) for either an MBA or Masters in Health Administration. I would like to tie together my knowledge of healthcare and interest in business by going into healthcare consulting. I would prefer an EMBA or accelerated part-time program, but not ruling out full-time.

Studying for GMAT....will likely take it this summer.

I'm concerned that B-schools will view me as a job hopper and steer clear. Any advice would be appreciated?

Thanks.

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:2 members