GMAT is like a glass of cold water in your face

This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
I've been preparing for my GMAT since January 2, 2009 (prep course, additional math course to brush up, The official guide, flashcards, etc). I'm writing the GMAT in 8 days and I'm almost on information overload (I work full-time, study part-time, and am a mother of two).

I've been pre-accepted to the Executive MBA of my choice (the rest of my application is stellar), but the quantitative section of GMAT is like a bucket of cold water in the face. I run an executive office, have over 15 years work experience, a CGPA of 3.8/4 but when it comes to the math, it put's me in my place (I have a whole Finance Dept at my disposal!). I can write an essay that'll make you cry - verbal doesn't scare me and I've never had a problem with math but after being out of high school for close to 20 years, the math looks like complete gibberish to me.

I need only 500 to get into the program. Any advice?
Sherry

by sirrowan » Tue May 12, 2009 10:06 am
I don't have any advice, but I feel your pain! That's exactly how I felt.

Have you registered for the GMAT yet? Tried any practice tests from various sources to see how you have a handle on the material?

Site Admin
Followed by:550 members
GMAT Score:770

by DanaJ » Tue May 12, 2009 10:35 am
Most experts on this forum argue that, when your math skills are rusty, the best idea is to go back to basics, like digging for your old high school books. I tend to agree: most prep books out there are designed based on the principle that your basics are still pretty solid, which might not be the case if you've been out of school for long. Take the OG: although it's got tons of great practice questions, the math review is really below average.