Questions to improve application

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:710

Questions to improve application

by wccotton » Sun Apr 19, 2009 12:34 pm
I recently took the GMAT and got a 650 (43Q/37V) and fully plan to retake the test to improve my score to something in the 700+ range. I graduated from Iowa State University with a degree in Electrical Engineering with a 3.27 GPA.

I plan on taking some courses this summer at a local university to help out my GPA and wonder if going to a name school vs a community college or smaller school really matters. In addition, what courses should I take that will help out my application?

I will have 5 years of work experience at a Fortune 500 Aerospace firm by the time I enroll for the Fall '10. I am looking to go to some top schools, such as HBS, Penn, Columbia, or Chicago. What else can I do to improve my application?

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:3 members
GMAT Score:750+

by VP_MBA_Guru » Mon Apr 20, 2009 7:27 pm
Hi WC,
Thanks for your post. There is actually a lot of debate of whether taking postgrad courses will have a significant impact on your candidacy. I think that since you are an Engineer, taking a Calculus or Stats course at a junior college or even state school is not going to have any major effect.

Instead, I would really focus on preparing for the GMAT and shooting for at least 700 if you are targeting a top 10 school.

How are your extra curricular activities? I think you would get more benefit having solid ECs rather than a postgrad course.

Regards,

N
Nikhil P. | Admissions Consultant | Veritas Prep

Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:710

by wccotton » Mon Apr 20, 2009 9:13 pm
VP_MBA_Guru wrote:Hi WC,