GMAT Labor of Love

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Master | Next Rank: 500 Posts

GMAT Labor of Love

by drhomler » Mon Jul 02, 2007 8:37 am
680(44Q39V)89th overall

I would like to extend a sincere thank you to all of you who helped contribute to my experience. Jay you are a wealth of knowledge and I appreciate your efforts. And of course Eric, pure genius. If I ever make it out your way I would like to buy you a beer.

Background-I’ve been out of undergrad for 7 years, I graduated from a small liberal arts college in New England. I don’t play number games or do math puzzles for fun (at least I didn’t prior to 8 weeks ago) and I don’t critique grammar for a living. I work in finance and I work 70hrs+ a week. I sacrificed all my personal time over the last 8 weeks to prepare for this test. I think the ideal time would probably be between 3-4 months with a plan of taking the exam twice. Obviously it varies depending on your background and your personal commitments, but if you are serious about it the test than you have to make sacrifices.

The Materials used-
Books:
2006 MGMAT books
OG 11/OG Verbal and Quant
Kaplan 800