What can I do?

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Junior | Next Rank: 30 Posts

What can I do?

by Skippy13 » Mon Apr 20, 2009 11:26 am
Hi something is worrying me about my undergraduate education. I cant estimate my GPA as I studied in the UK, but I think it would be right at the lower end of the scale. The most worrying thing is that there is a downward trend in my results ( I suffered with anxiety and depression for two of the the three years).

Since university im a different person and havent had any of the problems which plagued me. I scored 720 on the GMAT and have international work experience, I have also set up my own company with partners in Singapore and Norway. I can also provide excellent letter of recommendation.

How damaging will this downward trend be to my application? Would developing an alternative transcript help?

My target schools are ASU, Eller, USC, USD, Rice, U of T @ Austin and thunderbird.

Do I have a chance at all?

Thanks for any advice you can give

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:17 members
GMAT Score:750

by Graham » Tue Apr 21, 2009 4:37 am
Dear Skippy13,

Thanks for your post!

On the surface, my inclination is to not be overly concerned with the downward trend in GPA. At the end of the day, if your overall GPA was near the average of your target schools (you weren't terribly clear on this) you should be ok - particularly in light of decent performance on the GMAT. Of course, I have a number of questions based on your post:

1) What school did you attend for undergrad?
2) What did you study?
3) Which courses did you do poorly in? Are they MBA-relevant courses?
4) What is your overall GPA and specific results year-by-year?
5) Did the school you attend use a 1:1, 2:1 type of system? Where did you fall in that system?