Kindly Profile Evaluate my profile, 710 GMAT, 3.5 GPA

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Hi,

I am an Indian male with work-experience in Finance.

GMAT:

Total Score: 710 (92 percentile)
Quant: 50 (94 percentile)
Verbal: 37 (81 percentile)
AWA: 4.0 (21 percentile)

GPA:

8.72/10.00 (simple conversion leads to 3.488 (approx. 3.5)/4.0
Ranked 2 in my graduation class

Graduation School: IIT, India (one of the best engineering school in India)

Work Experience till now, 2 years and 10 months (should be 4 years, 1 month by July, 2010)

I worked as a Software Engineer in a Finance and Consulting firm for the first 9 months. Thereafter I have worked as an Analyst in Investment Banking/Finance. There I trained and lead a team of 2 guys, one with similar work experience as mine, another had work ex of more than 5 years. Did very well in my role.

I also visited New York (for business purpose) for 5 months and met people of 10 different countries. I didn't face any problem communicating with them at all. Does this count at all?

Extra-curricular: I worked for National Social Service for 2 years (in my Graduation School, we had several options such as Sports, Social Service, Military, I chose Social Service). I did some role of leadership there, but had nothing much to brag about.

I am targetting the Top 10 B-Schools. My career path will be in Investment Banking. Hence, so far I have decided on:

LBS,
Columbia,
Wharton, and
NYU.
I will also apply at ISB, India.

My GMAT score is way below the average for my pool. Do you think I should take the test again? I had fallen very sick before my exams. Can I defend my low GMAT score in the optional essay? I am afraid it will sound more like an excuse than a valid reason.