Profile evaluation please!!

Launched September 22, 2008
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts

Profile evaluation please!!

by fernanda » Mon Mar 23, 2009 1:11 am
Hi,

I'm considering the possibility of aplying to an MBA, in fact I'm working on it, but I'm having doubts about my real possibilities.
I am chilean, woman, studied Engineering in Chile (in one of the top5 of the country) and also participated in a Double degree program so I studied my last 18 months at Italy (Politecnico di Torino). My final grade was a 5,3 over 7, I was one of the best of my promotion.
After my graduation I worked in a IT project in Chile for a month and then I came to Spain to work in an Environmental Consultancy (not a very big one).
I took the GMAT and scored 680 (Q47 V37) but I'm retaking it in one month.
My idea is to take an MBA focused in International Cooperation, Non-for-Profit Management, Environment, etc, therefore my top preferences would be Columbia and Berkeley.
Do you think I have possibilities or I should think about other grad-school?

Thanks,

Fernanda

MBA Admissions Consultant
Followed by:17 members
GMAT Score:750

by Graham » Tue Mar 24, 2009 12:54 am
Dear Fernanda,

Thanks for your post!

You have a very unique background as a Chilean female with work experience in South America and Europe and a focus on environmental consulting. These elements alone (your gender, international background and experience in a niche industry) will give you a nice advantage in the MBA applicant pool. On the surface, I should think you could be competitive for Berkeley and CBS, but I do have a number of questions to ask and points I would like to make: