760 (Q50 V42) - If I can do it.. anyone can!

Find out how Beat The GMAT members tackled GMAT test prep with positive results. Get tips on GMAT test prep materials, online courses, study tips, and more.
This topic has expert replies
Senior | Next Rank: 100 Posts
Hey All,

Here is my debrief:

Im an Indian male, 28 yrs working in the US as a (you guessed it) software consultant. :) Anyway I got bit by the GMAT bug about 3 months back and decided to take it. The bug in part was because of my wife "bugging" me to take it and do something more with my life :).

Im pretty much an under-achiever. I have always done okay at studies, never too well, and it was almost always without much prep. However this time, I was determined to do well. I dont know why.. maybe I havent taken an exam for 6 years.. but it brought out the competitive spirit in me :)

Overview of how I studied:
-------------------------------
Background prep:
-----------------------
1) So I bought the Kaplan CD and book and got cracking. No planning no thoguth, just mindless practice. Within a week, I had solved every problem in the book.
2) I then downloaded the GMAT Prep software and took the first practice test. I got 690. Was pretty happy. To celebrate I bought the Official Guide 11th edition.
3) Solved every problem in the OG within 14 days. All sections. I didnt study more than 2 hours a day on weekdays and about 4 hours each day on weekends. Seemed enough for me.
4) Took the second GMAT prep and scored 660. That was when I surfed the internet and found this site. My first post was about my scores decreasing and thankfully aim, Stacy etc.. told me that I didnt need to worry. I had done esp poorly and Verbal and sure enough, to improve I bought 2 more books to practice, need I say, mindlessly.