How important is experience?

Free advice from the world's top MBA consultants
This topic has expert replies
Newbie | Next Rank: 10 Posts
GMAT Score:700

How important is experience?

by daveyar54 » Thu Feb 12, 2009 12:28 pm
Quick background on myself: I have a B.S. in Electrical Engineering from Rose-Hulman Institute of Technology (GPA 3.0). I scored a 700 on the GMAT and have recommendations from the Vice president of the company I work for (a $3.5 billion company) and my direct manager, both indicating my potential to be a business leader in the company. Although I graduated in 2007 and only have 2 years of experience, those two years have been spent in LEAN Business Practices analyzing and reducing waste in all facets of the company.

I was disappointed recently when I got denied at two MBA part time programs...IU Kelley and Butler University. I spoke with the admissions office at one of the schools and they said that my application was good, but I simply did not have enough business experience.

I definitely realize that attempting to start business school at 25 years old with only 2 years of experience is aggressive, but I have always known that I wanted to spend the majority of my career in the business center of a technical company, not doing research and development. I feel like if I work as an engineer for another 3 years, I'm just wasting my time.

My question is this: Should I continue to apply? Is it feasible for me to have a chance at decent MBA schools with this little of experience? What is the suggested or average amount of experience most applicants have when they start school. Finally, is the quality of years of experience considered, or simply quantity? (I have much more exposure to business practices and financial decisions than any engineer that I know of after 2 years.)

Thanks for any help/suggestions.

Regards,

Dave

GMAT Instructor
Followed by:2 members

by Jen Kedro » Fri Feb 13, 2009 2:39 pm
Hi Dave,